Laxfield is at the heart of Mid Suffolk, one of the most unspoilt parts of East Anglia, yet within easy reach of Suffolk heritage attractions and the seaside towns of Aldeburgh and Southwold.
The village clusters round the 14th century All Saints church with its impressive flint clad tower. Opposite is the local museum housed in The Guild Hall which dates from the the early 1500s, the Guild itself was set up in 1452.
Next to the church is The Royal Oak pub which also features a 'waitress service' restaurant. Laxfield's other pub, The King's Head, known throughout Suffolk as The Low House, is thought to be amongst the oldest in the country. Here the main attraction is the old style taproom serving beer straight from the barrel, but food is also available seven days a week.
There is also a general store and garage/hardware store, which means visitors can find life support requirements within the village.
For train spotters, Laxfield was also the terminus of the late lamented and wonderfully eccentric Mid-Suffolk Light Railway of which there are still traces to be found.